Christmas Market in Berlin

…So I know I haven’t been blogging for a while. I actually felt like quitting, but at the same time I love it. I have so many ideas about blogging; should it have a specific theme? should it be personal? should I try to start a discussion… Then I just realized today that personal is best – at least for me. Then I can just hope that other people find my life interesting as well :-)

Today I went to my first Christmas market in Berlin – actually it was a bit of a disappointment, but I think it wasn’t really open, something about a holiday me and my friend didn’t know about. We went to the Christmas market at Potsdamer Platz, cause I know that not all of them have opened yet. However, I don’t regret going there cause still we got our glass of Glühwein and we did get to see some nice lamps and Christmas trees. I actually think it is weird cause I have never been in a place ever with so little Christmas feeling. I mean where are all the decorations, lamps and Christmas trees? Maybe they are just a bit late here in Berlin…

I have been in Berlin for 2.5 months now but still there are so many places I haven’t discovered. Today for example was my first time ever at Potsdamer Platz and I must say that I like it a lot. I like it just because it isn’t so “hipster” as the rest of Berlin and even though I like the relaxed atmosphere in the city I really miss the luxury feeling sometimes; people that are dressed up, exclusive department stores, nice restaurants etc… I will definitely come back to the area to see what it has to offer at some point later…

After we had been walking around for a while we took the bus towards Alexander Platz. There we listened to some surprisingly good street music, walked by some other Christmas stands and took some nice photos. Before going to Berlin a friend of mine told me some restaurants that I should visit. When my dad was here I visited one that served dumplings, and since I had told my friend about it so many times we decided to have a nice Sunday dinner there. The place is called Yumcha Heroes and is located just by Rosenthaler Platz. Just like when my dad was here visiting we ordered three dishes; one each and then one to share. The dumplings were soo good and it was the perfect ending of a long but nice Sunday in Berlin. I will definitely come back to this place, and if you ever are in the area you should definitely give it a try!

Church Potsdamer PlatzSunset in BerlinChristmas Cookies

One thought on “Christmas Market in Berlin

  1. Pingback: Christmas Market at Alexanderplatz | The life of a Swedish girl Living in Berlin

Leave a Reply

