Middle Eastern Restaurant in Berlin

I often say that I don’t want to go back to the same restaurant here in Berlin. There are so many good places to choose between and I really don’t want to feel like I’ve been living here and only eaten at the same place all the time. There is, however, one exception; Babel restaurant in Prenzlauer Berg. 

The first time I went to Babel was with my friend Theresa. It was one of her favorite restaurants here in Berlin, and she had told me several times how much she wanted to show it to me. We really have the same taste when it comes to food and she “just knew” that I would love the Libanese food that they serve at this rather small and cozy restaurant. For me Babel was love at first sight – the food was amazingly good and the atmosphere cozy and warm. The thing that they also gave me a way to sweet Baklava for free made the dinner experience even better.

I have now come back to this restaurant three times; one time on my birthday and also during two “farewell dinners” for my friends. The food has always been really good and it is that kind of restaurant where you always leave, feeling a bit bad because you couldn’t stop eating even though you got really full. Every time I’ve been at Babel I’ve ordered their “plates” or Teller as they call it. These plates include salad, different sauces & dressings, and some bread on the side. With the salad you then choose a combination of two things:

  • Hummus (chick peas)
  • Shawarma
  • Baba Ganoush (some eggplant/aubergine mix)
  • Halloumi
  • Vegetables

I don’t know what I like most about the food at this restaurant, but I guess that it is the fact that you get a bit of everything, and then that the combination of all these flavors becomes amazing! I also love that the salad includes vegetables that I usually do not eat (there is one pink thing that I love but still have no idea of what it is), garlic, chili, mango and on top of that – some lovely little pomegranate seeds. Together with the food you also get some nice sauce made of tahini, mango dressing and fresh herbs. Everything looks really nice on the plate, and the only thing that I actually don’t like that much is the bread. People that know me knows that I am a huge fan of bread, and especially when it comes to freshly baked soft bread (that you often get at restaurants). The bread at Babel on the other hand isn’t that nice at all; it is kind of dry and boring according to me. But it doesn’t really matter – then you can focus on the nicer stuff you have on the plate, and believe me you will get really full!

Babel Teller - Shawarma & Hummus

Babel Teller – Shawarma & Hummus

Babel Restaurant – Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Kastanienallee 33, 104 35 Berlin
Station: Eberswalder straße
Kitchen: Middle Eastern / Lebanese
Reviews: Trip Advisor, Qype

Leave a Reply

